Middlesbrough confirm 2023/24 Championship squad numbers

MIDDLESBROUGH have confirmed their squad numbers for the coming Championship season – with the No.9 shirt free as Boro continue their efforts to sign a new striker.

All of the other 1-11 numbers are taken, with summer arrival Seny Dieng the new No.1, Rav van den Berg handed the No.3 shirt that was worn by Ryan Giles last season and Morgan Rodgers No.10, the shirt that was worn by Cameron Archer in the second half of last term.


Tommy Smith will wear the No.2 shirt, with Isaiah Jones switching to 11. And after his brilliant breakthrough season, Hayden Hackney will now wear the No.7 shirt. Dan Barlaser, who arrived in January, has moved to No.4.

Middlesbrough ratings as Hackney and Akpom shine to help Boro move into the top six - Teesside Live

Last season’s star man Chuba Akpom will again wear the No.29 shirt, with Jonny Howson, Paddy McNair, Matt Crooks and Darragh Lenihan also sticking with last season’s numbers.


Summer signings Alex Gilbert and Sammy Silvera will wear 14 and 18, while returning loanees Matthew Hoppe, Josh Coburn, Martin Payero and Hayden Coulson are numbers 13, 19, 20 and 22 respectively.


Bringing in a new number nine is Boro’s priority between now and the end of the transfer window. Boro are in the market for at least one new centre-forward after Archer, first choice striker in the second half of last season, returned to Aston Villa.


Bringing in a new left-back is also at the top of Boro’s wishlist after Giles completed his move to Luton Town last week.

Middlesbrough player ‘ready to step into the breach’ on the opening weekend
Michael Carrick makes bold call about Middlesbrough attacker ahead of new season

Michael Carrick assesses Middlesbrough’s pre-season – and looks ahead to first game

Boro squad numbers in full:


1. Seny Dieng


2. Tommy Smith


3. Rav van den Berg


4. Daniel Barlaser


5. Matt Clarke


6. Dael Fry


7. Hayden Hackney


8. Riley McGree


10. Morgan Rogers


11. Isaiah Jones


13. Matthew Hoppe


14. Alex Gilbert


15. Anfernee Dijksteel


16. Jonny Howson


17. Paddy McNair


18. Sammy Silvera


19. Josh Coburn


20. Martin Payero


21. Marcus Forss


22. Hayden Coulson


23. Tom Glover


25. Matt Crooks


26. Darragh Lenihan


29. Chuba Akpom


32. Jamie Jones

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *