Ipswich Town star Conor Chaplin has been named PFA League One Players’ Player of the Season at a star-studded awards show tonight.

The 26-year-old bagged 26 league goals last season as Town surged to promotion.

That was enough for him to see off the challenge from his fellow nominees – Peterborough’s Jonson Clarke-Harris, Bali Mumba of Plymouth, Sheffield Wednesday captain Barry Bannan, former Town striker David McGoldrick and Bristol Rovers forward Aaron Collins.


The award was only introduced for the 2022/23 season, and saw players from across the divison cast their votes.
Chaplin, who couldn’t attend tonight’s award ceremony due to Town’s Carabao Cup clash at Reading, said: “It feels really good to have won such a prestigious award.

“It’s obviously the first time this has been given out, which makes it more special, and to be respected and acknowledged by those you are going up against every week is brilliant.

“The club’s success helps with individual awards and I will need a big space somewhere in my house, because it’s a very big trophy.”

He added: “A big part of why I have won this award is through goals, which you obviously don’t get if you don’t have chances made for you by your teammates.

“We are such a well-coached team and that helps us create so much.

“I was there to finish a lot of chances but so many of them are because of the work of others and because of the way we work as a team.”

Chaplin was also named in the PFA League One team of the season, along with Town skipper Sam Morsy and left back Leif Davis.



Town’s promotion-winners honoured

Three of Town’s promotion-winners have been named in the PFA League One Team of the Year for the 2022/23 season.


The Blues secured Championship football by finishing second in the League One table, behind Plymouth, amassing 98 points and scoring 101 league goals along the way.


Town are the only side to have three players feature in the select side, with captain Sam Morsy, defender Leif Davis and attacker Conor Chaplin all voted into the side.


Skipper Sam led from the front throughout the campaign and produced consistently high performances whenever he stepped onto the field, scoring four goals in 49 appearances.


Leif enjoyed a spectacular debut season with the Club, during which he led the league in assists (14) and helped his side keep a division-high 23 clean sheets.


Conor was the Club’s leading scorer, with 29 in all competitions and 26 in the league, with the latter earning him a share in the League One golden boot.


Also at tonight’s awards, Town’s Idris El Mizouni has been named in the League Two Team of the Year, after helping Leyton Orient win promotion last season.


The XI was named at the PFA’s awards ceremony in Manchester this evening, marking the 50th anniversary of the organisation.


PFA League One Team of the Year: James Trafford (Bolton Wanderers), Bali Mumba (Plymouth Argyle), Ricardo Santos (Bolton Wanderers), Mads Andersen (Barnsley), Leif Davis (Ipswich Town), Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday), Sam Morsy (Ipswich Town), Luca Connell (Barnsley), Conor Chaplin (Ipswich Town), David McGoldrick (Derby County), Jonson Clarke-Harris (Peterborough United).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *