The Golden Boy award nominees are Jamal Musiala of Bayern Munich, Jude Bellingham of Real Madrid, Alejandaro Balde of Barcelona, and Lewis Hall of Newcastle.

The nominees are chosen by sports journalists, who have submitted a list of the most promising young players from Europe’s top leagues over the last year. All nominations must be under the age of 21.

Only Bellingham and Balde are presently ahead of our new signing on the list, where there have already been over three million votes.

Bellingham presently has a sizable lead in the vote and appears to be in line to win the 2023 award, but Hall’s candidacy emphasizes what a remarkable breakout season he had for Chelsea during the 2022–2023 season.

Newcastle United sign Chelsea talent Lewis Hall

He was the Blues’ lone bright spot during a dreadful season and frequently their top performer whenever he played, displaying an exceptional blend of pace, drive, aggression, and quality in possession. Although the 18-year-old was transferred to Newcastle on a loan-to-buy basis from Stamford Bridge, it already feels like we are dealing with a future star.

Here are some of the Golden Boy award winners in the past:

Gavi (Barcelona) in 2022
Pedri (Barcelona) in 2021
Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund) in 2020
Joao Felix (Benfica/Atletico Madrid) in 2019.
Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax), year 2018
Kylian Mbappe (Monaco / PSV) in 2017.
Renato Sanches (Benfica/Bayern Munich) in 2016.
Anthony Martial (Monaco/Man Utd) in 2015.
Raheem Sterling (Liverpool) in 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *